About Edition Open Access

This website currently provides open access to the publications of the Max Planck Research Library for the History and Development of Knowledge and Edition Open Sources, in accordance with the Berlin Declaration on Open Access to knowledge in the sciences and humanities, which was launched by the Max Planck Society in 2003. The aim is to disseminate the results of scholarly work – in accordance with the open-access paradigm – to a broad audience rapidly and at low cost. The volumes presented here are directed at scholars and students in a wide range of disciplines.

The initiative is currently supported by research departments of three Max Planck Institutes: the MPI for the History of Science, the Fritz Haber Institute of the MPG, the MPI for Chemical Ecology, the MPI for Gravitational Physics (Albert Einstein Institute), and the University of Oklahoma Library and its History of Science Department.

The volumes present original scientific work submitted under the scholarly responsibility of members of the respective Editorial Boards and their academic peers, and are published under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike License.

Series Editors

Ian T. Baldwin (Max Planck Institute for Chemical Ecology, Jena)
Gerd Graßhoff
(Department of Philosophy, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin)
Jürgen Renn (Max Planck Institute for the History of Science, Berlin)
Dagmar Schäfer (Max Planck Institute for the History of Science, Berlin)
Robert Schlögl (Fritz Haber Institute, Berlin)
Bernard F. Schutz (Max Planck Institute for Gravitational Physics, Golm)

Editorial Board

Markus Antonietti (Max Planck Institute of Colloids and Interfaces, Golm)
Antonio Becchi (Humboldt University, Berlin)
Fabio Bevilacqua (University of Pavia)
William G. Boltz (University of Washington, Seattle)
Jens Braarvig (Oslo University)
Horst Bredekamp (Humboldt University, Berlin)
Jed Z. Buchwald (California Institute of Technology, Pasadena)
Olivier Darrigol (CNRS, Paris)
Thomas Duve (Max Planck Institute for European Legal History, Frankfurt am Main)
Mike Edmunds (Cardiff University)
Yehuda Elkana† (Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin)
Fynn Ole Engler (University of Rostock)
Robert K. Englund (University of California, Los Angeles)
Mordechai Feingold (California Institute of Technology, Pasadena)
Rivka Feldhay (Tel-Aviv University)
Gideon Freudenthal (Tel-Aviv University)
Paolo Galluzzi (Istituto e Museo di Storia della Scienza, Florence)
Kostas Gavroglu (University of Athens)
Mark Geller (Freie Universität Berlin)
Domenico Giulini (University of Hannover)
Günther Görz (University of Erlangen)
Gerd Graßhoff (Humboldt University, Berlin)
James Hough (University of Glasgow)
Manfred Laubichler (Arizona State University, Tempe)
Glenn Most (University of Chicago)
Klaus Müllen (Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research, Mainz)
Pier Daniele Napolitani (University of Pisa)
Alessandro Nova (Kunsthistorisches Institut in Florenz)
Hermann Parzinger (The Prussian Cultural Heritage Foundation, Berlin)
Dan T. Potts (Institute for the Study of the Ancient World, New York)
Mark Schiefsky (Harvard University)
Sabine Schmidtke (Freie Universität Berlin)
Circe Silva da Silva (Federal University of Espírito Santo, Vitoria)
Ana Simões (University of Lisbon)
Dieter Stein (University of Düsseldorf)
Richard Stephenson (Durham University)
Mark Stitt (Max Planck Institute of Molecular Plant Physiology, Potsdam)
Noel M. Swerdlow (California Institute of Technology, Pasadena)
Liba Taub (University of Cambridge)
Martin Vingron (Max Planck Institute for Molecular Genetics, Berlin)
Scott Walter (University of Nancy)
Norton Wise (University of California, Los Angeles)
Gerhard Wolf (Kunsthistorisches Institut in Florenz)
Rüdiger Wolfrum (Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law, Heidelberg)
Gereon Wolters (University of Konstanz)
Zhang Baichun (Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing)